Community Reading Series

Lesley Poling-Kempes, Tommy Archuleta, Mary Morris, Valerie Martínez
Sliding Scale Suggested Donation: $5-10
Saturday, April 30, 5 pm | CCA Cinematheque

Please join CCA for the third event in our ongoing Community Reading Series, with this event featuring Lesley Poling-Kempes, Tommy Archuleta, Mary Morris, and Valerie Martínez. The first reading series event of 2022 celebrates the last day of poetry month on Saturday, April 30th. Expanding beyond poetry, this reading series will include both poetry and prose. Readings are curated by former Santa Fe poet laureate Elizabeth Jacobson and will continue to feature local writers, many of whom have recently published new books.

*Our service provider is currently encountering issues with VISA cards, you may be unable to make a payment if using a VISA card. Our service provider is currently working on the issue.


Lesley Poling-Kempes

Lesley Poling-Kempes is the award-winning author of fiction and nonfiction books about the American Southwest including Ladies of the Canyon: A League of Extraordinary Women & Their Adventures in the American Southwest, Bone Horses, The Harvey Girls: Women Who Opened the West, Valley of Shining Stone: The Story of Abiquiu, Ghost Ranch, and Canyon of Remembering.

Her work has won the WILLA Literary Award (twice), the Tony Hillerman Award for Fiction, the Zia Award, the Reading the West Award, two IPPY Awards, and the Southwest Book Award. In 2020, Ladies of the Canyons received the Harris Award from the New Mexico Book Association for outstanding contribution to the understanding of Southwest cultures and people.

Poling-Kempes has lived in Abiquiu, New Mexico since the 1970s.

Tommy Archuleta, reader

Tommy Archuleta is a mental health counselor and substance abuse counselor for the New Mexico Corrections Department. Most recently his work has appeared in the New England Review, the Laurel Review, the Lily Review, Guesthouse, and the Poem-a-Day series sponsored by the Academy of American Poets. His debut collection entitled, Susto, is slated for release March 2023 through the Center for Literary Publishing as a Mountain/West Poetry Series title.

Mary Morris, reader

Mary Morris’s poems are published in Poetry, Prairie Schooner, The Los Angeles Review, and The Massachusetts Review. She is the author of three books of poetry, winner of the New Mexico Book Award, Wheelbarrow Books Prize, Western Humanities Prize, Rita Dove Award, and the New Mexico Discovery Award. Mary has been invited to read her poems at the Library of Congress, which aired on National Public Radio, and was recently selected by Kwame Dawes for American Life in Poetry.

Valerie Martínez, reader

Valerie Martínez is the author of five books of poetry, one book of translations (of Uruguay’s Delmira Agustini) and a chapbook of hybrid poetry and prose. Her poems have appeared widely in anthologies, journals, and magazines. Her most recent work, Count, is a book-length poem that grapples with the devastating effects of human-made climate change while recounting the magnificent wonders of the natural world. Martínez is also an educator, having taught poetry and literature for over 20 years at the college/university level and currently teaching poetry and memoir workshops for adults. Since 2007, Martínez has worked as an arts administrator and consultant in the field of arts and community development. She is the Founding Director of Artful Life, an organization dedicated to works of public art created through a place-based, community engagement process. Artful Life is currently the lead consultant for the City of Santa Fe, New Mexico’s CHART (Culture, History, Art, Reconciliation, Truth) project—a twelve-month community engagement process dedicated to truth, healing, and reconciliation. Valerie was the Poet Laureate of Santa Fe, New Mexico from 2008-2010. Learn more:

Elizabeth Jacobson
Elizabeth Jacobson, curator

Elizabeth Jacobson was the fifth Poet Laureate of Santa Fe, New Mexico and an Academy of American Poets 2020 Poets Laureate Fellow.  Her most recent book, Not into the Blossoms and Not into the Air, won the New Measure Poetry Prize, selected by Marianne Boruch (Free Verse Editions/Parlor Press, 2019), and the 2019 New Mexico-Arizona Book Award for both New Mexico Poetry and Best New Mexico Book.  She is the Reviews Editor for the online literary journal and co-founding director of Poetry Pollinators, an eco-poetry public art initiative supporting native solitary bees and humans. She teaches poetry workshops regularly in the Santa Fe community.